Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Okay, I’m trying a little something different at the moment. My husband asked me a while ago to make a welcome back card for a colleague and friend (I wasn’t allowed to post this until he actually received the card). I had just bought a whole heap of stuff from Kaszazz’s new January range release Carpe Diem, which has a lot of Steampunk-style products in there. Given my husband and his colleague work in the Engineering/Computer sector, I thought this style would fit very nicely.

P1050609

The background is stamped using the Chevron stamp and various distress inks (Vintage Photo, Gathered Twigs, Walnut Stain, Old Paper). The train is from the Carpe Diem stamp set. The cogs were cut using the Cogs die-cuts. The sentiment was made using the Alphabet die. This took a lot of negotiating with my husband, as he wanted Welcome Back, however I did not have such a stamp and he needed it made that weekend. We settled for the die-cuts, although the font type perhaps doesn’t match the steampunk theme as well as I would have liked. These were mounted with mounting tape (I hope it has survived the post…)

P1050610

To keep with the industrial theme, I painted the letters with Antiqued Bronze distress stain, which has given it an aged but metallic look.

The shaded cog in the top left corner was made by dry-embossing this corner and then rubbing ink over the raised edges with a sponge. I then tied on a fob watch with some twine, and stuck it in place with a glue dot. The edges of the cog die-cuts have been inked around the edges also.

P1050608

Everything is from Kaszazz except for the Cogs embossing folder.

Paper: Chocolate, White card

Stamps: Carpe Diem, Chevron

Die-cuts: Cogs, Alphabet Fonts Delight Roman

Tools: Cogs Embossing folder, embossing machine, paper trimmer, ink blending tool and sponge

Embellishments: fob-watch from Atlas embellishment pack, twine,

Inks: Antiqued Bronze distress stain, Distress Inks (Walnut Stain, Old Paper, Vintage Photo and Gathered Twigs)

Adhesives: Double-sided tape, mounting tape, glue dots

