Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy New Year!

The turn of the new year happens to also be the day of my Nanna’s birthday – She turns 80 today, and this is the card I made for her:

P1050307

It’s not my normal style, but I wanted something busy and flowery for my Nanna.

I have been practising my watercolouring, and it’s getting better each time I do it. I’m getting used to shading and adding darker colours to add depth. My first mistake was to stamp the image with Memento Tuxedo Black ink and then colour it in. What I didn’t remember, is that Memento is a water-based ink and the black bled with the colours as soon as I added water… whoops.

So the key is: When watercolouring, use Stazon (this is a solvent based ink and sticks to anything!); and When using alcohol markers (Copic, Spectrum Noir – which I have just purchased), use a water-based ink like Memento, as the alcohol markers will make the Stazon bleed.

P1050308

Don’t you just love her springy hair?! So whimsical.

The photo below shows a close up of the flowers I added. I stuck these on using glue dots (and do they stick!). The green spirals are made out of the wire stems the flowers came on. I cut the top off and wrapped the wire around a small embossing tool (anything round will work, eg. a pen). Then slide it off and voila, you have a small spiral. These were also stuck on with glue dots, underneath the large white rose. I rubbed the edges of the white rose with Vintage photo ink, to give it a more antiquey/old look. My husband thinks it looks like it’s wilting, and thinks perhaps I should have gone with plain white, but I think I like it. What do you think?

P1050309

Stamps: Wee Love You Bunches by Whimsy Stamps

Inks: Stazon Black, Vintage Photo Distress Ink, Watercolour pencils and crayons

Papers: White square card, Kaisercraft ‘Butterfly Kisses’, purple, watercolour paper

Embellishments: Assorted coloured roses, rub on numbers, Aged Copper brads,

