Tags

, ,

I  know I said I was leaving for the snow, but had to add this one:

This card was made for Di, to say goodbye.

Image

I inked blue tablecloth patterned paper with ‘Faded Jeans’ distressed ink and layered this on top of folded white card.

A white lace border was die-cut with ‘Lace Border #1‘  and my Ezi Press machine. You can use most die-cut machines with this die-cut (I’ve used my Cuttlebug, but I find the Ezi Press easier because it is a lot bigger; just make sure you use the right pads and don’t ever force them through – if it doesn’t go through, don’t use it).

A 3 3/8″ circle was cut using the ‘Circles’ die cut, and stamped with ‘Faded Jeans’ ink and ‘for the life of me I can’t remember where this stamp is from’ stamp (this is the same ink that was used around the edges of the check paper). I positioned the stamp so that only half of the stamp was shown, leaving more white space at the top, attaching it with mounting tape (so that it ‘pops’ out of the card).

I made a bow out of white satin ribbon and attached this with 3 lilies to the card, tucking the stems so that they are out of sight. I  sewed some blue ribbon of the same hue of the ink used onto the ribbon. I attached the ribbon with double sided tape (or you could use a glue gun if it won’t stick) to the underside of the bow.

And voila it’s done! You could personalise this card in many ways by changing the flowers (these lilies are often used for sympathy cards), or by adding a sentiment such as ‘Happy Birthday!’ These could be stamped across the top of the inked flower image in black. These cards could be made in advance with a sentiment added at late notice when a card is needed.

Try it with different colours! I like the monochromatic scheme, and find the one colour is really striking this way. I’m feeling yellow may be a go-er for the next one…

